Hora, the capital of Serifos, is an architecturally protected settlement that features the traditional Cycladic colours and architecture.
This is a typical Mediaeval fortified settlement, built amphitheatrically on a rocky hill above the bay of Livadi to protect the inhabitants from pirate raids.
Dozens of traditional villages are waiting for you to discover their original Cycladic architecture & tradition.
Hora in Serifos
Nowadays only two "Lotzies" (entrances) are left of the Mediaeval settlement, one of which bears an emblem dating back to the days of the Venetian Rule. At the top of the hill there are ruins of the Venetian fort built in 1434 by the Michielli family, whereas right at the top of the rock there is the Church of Saint Konstantinos.
From this point the visitors can take in the wonderful view of the Aegean sea and the nearby islands of Sifnos, Kithnos, Milos and Kimolos spreading ahead of them.
A short walk down the hill there is the church of Agios Yiannis of Theologos, built in a cave in a rock. According to the legend, the church is built on the ruins of the ancient temple of Athena.
Serifos, Megalo Livadi
The settlement was founded in 1880 and it is located at the southwestern side of Serifos in the bay of Megalo Livadi. The area was flourishing while the mines where in operation and up until 1963 when the mines closed. Back in those days, the area boasted a Chemical Laboratory, schools, a police station, grocery stores, bakeries, tailor’s shops, shoemaker’s shops and residences, some of which still exist but are now abandoned.
At the end of the bay there is still a neoclassic building (following Ernst Ziller's architectural style) with big palms, which used to house the headquarters of the mine company, “Serifos-Spilialeza.”
Koutalas is a coastal settlement at the southwestern side of Serifos. It developed when the island’s mines were still in operation and it was the island’s mining center.